Concert 1: Great Expectations

Introducing Concert 1:

The Arianna Quartet returns for CVCMF 2024

Hailed for their outstanding musicianship, the Arianna String Quartet has established itself as one of America’s finest chamber ensembles. CVCMF welcomes their return with a program of music of a nineteen year old Max Bruch, a quartet by the Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů from 1929, and probably the most famous work of chamber music by a young composer, the String Octet of Felix Mendelssohn.


Max Bruch: String Quartet No. 1 in C Minor, Op.

Bohuslav Martinů: String Quartet No. 3

Felix Mendelssohn: String Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20 with guests Theo Ramsey, Hannah Jacobs, Julia Bullard, and Max Geissler

About this program

A snapshot of the composers on this program

Max Bruch

Max Bruch (1838–1920) was a German romantic composer and conductor who wrote over 200 works. He wrote three violin concertos, the first of which, in G Minor has become a staple of the violin repertoire.

Bohuslav Martinů

Despite spending his last two decades in exile, Bohuslav Martinů was among the most prolific composers of the twentieth century.  Born in a church tower above the Czech–Moravian Highlands, he established himself in both Prague and Paris before the Nazi invasion of France forced him to flee to the United States.  He became a star in the U.S. during the 1940s.

Felix Mendelssohn

Jakob Ludwig Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy came from a wealthy Hamburg family who mixed with many of Germany’s leading artists and musicians. A frighteningly clever child prodigy, the young Felix excelled as a painter, poet, athlete, linguist and musician.

String Octets

Composed of four violins, two violas, and two cellos, octets were often a vehicle of exploration for young composers. Mendelssohn’s Octet, Op. 20, was written when he was just 16, Shostakovich’s two string octets were written when he was 18, and George Enescu’s Octet, op. 7, when he was 19.

Concert Artists

Meet the CVCM Aritsts Performing with the Arianna String Quartet on this program

Theo Ramsey


Hannah Jacobs


Julia Bullard


Max Geissler