Digital 2020-2021 Season Available At A440.Live

July 20, 7:30 (CST): From Florida With Love

Rachmaninoff: Trio élégiaque No. 1 in G Minor (1892) 

Shostakovich: Piano Trio No. 2 in E Minor, Op. 67 (1944) 

Ross Monroe Winter, David Bjella, and Hannah Sun make up the Orlando Piano Trio.  The program features two works from  very different periods in Russian history and culture. Rachmaninoff ‘s first piano trio is a youthful and opulent one-movement work. A student’s homage with clear references to his teacher and mentor Tchaikovsky. Conversely the second trio of Shostakovich comes during the prime of his life and is filled with what we often associate with the composer, namely  with the. struggles of war, politics, and cultural oppression. Together these two trios make a powerful pairing of masterworks that will leave you breathless . 

Stream this concert by clicking here:  

Ross Monroe Winter, violin

David Bjella, cello

Hannah Sun, piano